Resync

When we upgrade our encryption specification, we recommend that users resync all their existing data to ensure it is secured with the latest version. Usually, you'll be prompted to visit this page via an announcement or update.

To resync your data, perform the following:

  1. Open the Standard Notes web or desktop app.
  2. Click "Account" in the lower left corner of the app.
  3. Create a backup of your data by pressing "Download Data Archive"
  4. Click Advanced -> Re-encrypt All Items

You should wait for the last step to complete before navigating away from the page. Afterwards, all your data should be encrypted with the most secure version of our encryption specification.


Any questions? Get in touch via the Help page.