← Back to Help

What happens to my data when my subscription expires?

An active subscription is required to access Extended features, such as editors, themes, and other extensions. When your subscription expires, these extensions will enter a read-only mode, so you can continue to see your data with the visual markup provided by the extensions, but not use the extensions themselves to modify data.

Because extensions are typically visual layers on top of your existing data, you can simply disable these extensions to go back to editing your data using plain means. For example, if you were using the Advanced Markdown Editor to edit a note, this editor will enter a read-only state when your subscription expires. You can then simply choose the Plain Editor to edit your note as usual.

What about two-factor authentication?

As a courtesy, we keep two-factor authentication enabled for accounts even after their subscription expires, so long as a refund is not requested.