What does it mean to lock or protect a note?
Here are a list of available actions on a note and what they represent:
|Pin||Pinning a note will anchor it to the top of your list of notes, sorted
according to the global sort order (specified in your Options).
|Archive||Archiving a note will stash your note and hide it from your usual interface.
Archived notes can be found by choosing the reserved Archived view in the tags
panel. Archiving a note does not affect or improve performance, as the note is
still saved and loaded, but not displayed in the list of all notes or within a
particular tag. Archiving is useful for notes that no longer contain actionable
data, but want to be preserved for historical purposes. For example, if a note
contains a list of todos, and you've completed all the todos, archiving the note
would make sense.
|Lock||Locking a note will put it read-only mode, which means it can't be edited or
deleted until you unlock it. This is to prevent accidental modification of sensitive notes, like
passwords or credentials that aren't likely to change often.
|Protect||Protecting a note marks the note as sensitive, and will make it so that
additional privileges are required to view the note. Privileges are managed by
the main Privileges feature, which you can manage on web or desktop
via Account → Manage
on mobile via Settings → Manage
Privileges. Inside the privileges management window, you'll see a row
named View Protected Notes. By checking both the Account Password and
Local Passcode boxes for that row, you will make it so that both the account
password and your local passcode will be required to view any notes marked
as Protected. Protecting a note will automatically hide its preview
in your list of notes.
|Preview||On web and desktop, selecting the Preview option will toggle whether to hide
or show the note preview in the list of notes. You can hide previews for a
particular note if you'd like to conserve vertical space in your list of notes,
or to hide sensitive data. However, we recommend Protecting a
note if you'd like to hide sensitive information.
|Move to Trash||Moving a note to the trash will mark the note as deleted, and remove it from
your interface. However, your note will still exist in your Trash, which you can
access from your list of Views. From the trash, you can restore the
note, or choose to delete it permanently. You can also empty the entirety of your
trash by choosing Options → Empty
Trash from the note editor panel.